Bonesy's Blahg

I am…

I am fierce loyalty forged in first impressions.

I am the thunderstruck moment of love at first sight.

I am atheism cloaked in Christian values.

I am age-mellowed, masking an internal seething rage.

I am a soundtrack playing softly in the background, yearning to be heard.

I am the song that takes you back to another time.

I am insomnia, a racing mind and a phantom itch.

I am a dandelion, scattered into the wind with a wish.

I am the last stubborn leaf found clinging to a tree in mid-winter.

I am arms-length, a line of demarcation, and a boundary.

I am the impulsive attempt to reach out to a friend you lost touch with; the realization that sometimes you truly can pick up right where you left off.

I am the nervous giggle that bubbles up out of you at an inappropriate moment.

I am the scent of violet, rendering an inability to know other smells.

I am that first, glorious full breath of an asthmatic after the attack passes.

I am the sandy footprint that marks the spot between where you have been and where you will go.

I am the finger-tracing of handwriting on a cherished old letter from someone long ago passed.

I am the fancy tin box in your closet, holding your mementos; a  keeper of secrets, doling out the bittersweet touches to your past one by one.

I am that well-worn bookmark that has kept your place for the past 20 years, imprinted with words like memories.

I am your 7th grade English teacher, unable to simply overlook your bad grammar and poor spelling!

I am the rainbow seen on the horizon through a spotted windshield.

I am gravity, pulling you down in an attempt to keep you from floating too far.

I am a neglected child of a broken home, finding her way through marriage and parenthood armed only with the knowledge of what NOT to do.

This post is in response to San Diego Momma’s PrompTuesday #140, “Where I Am.”  Give it a shot, it’s incredibly enlightening to reflect upon yourself and where you’re at as a person.   Leave a comment here, on her site, or both.

February 8, 2011 - Posted by | Confession

15 Comments »

  1. This?

    “I am the last stubborn leaf found clinging to a tree in mid-winter.”

    Love that especially.

    Comment by San Diego Momma | February 8, 2011 | Reply

    • In all honesty, I started this as a writing exercise, never intending to post it. Then it became something more & it just felt “right” to let it all lay out there. Thank you for the compliment, the comment, and the inspiration to get out of my comfort zone. Sometimes I just need that push!

      Comment by bonesysblahg | February 9, 2011 | Reply

  2. Dorene, this is absolutely amazing. I love you my friend. I respect how you write. I admire how you think (mostly, LOL, but definitely in this writing). Usually,you crack me up. In this blog, you touched a place in my soul w the fingers of words. And for once, I’m speechless (although I just “talked, I know). I hope you continue on this path of expression. This is really, really good.

    Comment by Krister | February 8, 2011 | Reply

  3. Just stunning Dorene! You are such a gifted writer! Oh, and find that 7th grade English teacher and tell them to shove it up their a$$!

    Comment by Dawn | February 9, 2011 | Reply

  4. I love this.

    Comment by Missy | February 9, 2011 | Reply

  5. WOW !That was beautiful and amazing !You blew me away 🙂

    Comment by Ruth Berman | February 9, 2011 | Reply

  6. I am…so glad I found your blog! Yea! Smart and funny – great combination.

    Comment by Mecca | February 9, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you so much! That means more than I can tell you.

      Comment by bonesysblahg | February 10, 2011 | Reply

  7. This was very cool. I am going to have to try it.

    Comment by Jack | February 10, 2011 | Reply

    • I hope you post it. I look forward to reading it!

      Comment by bonesysblahg | February 11, 2011 | Reply

  8. Wow. This is amazing! I don’t think I could ever put together something so… perfect!
    I especially like this “I am insomnia, a racing mind and a phantom itch.” That’s EXACTLY how I feel some nights when I can’t switch off. I literally scratch my legs raw because of it sometimes.

    Comment by leafprobably | February 12, 2011 | Reply

  9. […] I am, from Bonesy’s Blahg! I LOVE this. It’s practically perfect in every way. (10 points and a gold star if you can tell me which movie that’s from) I’m also going to give it a shot as a writing exercise in my journal later this week. […]

    Pingback by Mondayitus. « Leaf Probably | February 13, 2011 | Reply

  10. […] the “I am” writing […]

    Pingback by Inspire me… « Leaf Probably | March 11, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment