Bonesy's Blahg

And This Is Why I Now Have A Notebook Under My Pillow

I’ve been on and off nearly every sleep med out there over the past few years.  But, the thing is, I really don’t like taking them. Basically, they kick my ass & I black out for 8 hours.  To an insomniac, that seems like a great thing!  (Trust me, most of the time I think it’s fantastic!)  But, here’s what I’ve come to realize…  Dreams and sleep deprivation, while seemingly opposites, are the basis for so much creativity!  And, I think it’s one of the reasons that I’ve struggled with writer’s block for so long.  So, as a sort-of  challenge to myself , I’ve stopped taking them.  The result?  I’m writing again, but not really sleeping much.  It’s a fair trade, for now.  But, that brings me to my point!

The other night, I had a fantastic dream!  I don’t remember anything about it, other than waking up thinking it was fantastic.  And, I knew that  if I could just remember two very specific words, it would all come back to me.  It was going to make a fabulously funny blog post!  A  while later, I went back to sleep… Only to wake up again.  I could remember the first word, but the second was a little fuzzy.  So…  I stayed up a bit longer, until the word popped into my head, then eventually went back to sleep.  Wake up AGAIN (welcome to my hell)… and the second word is… gone.  Just GONE.  I remembered that it had something to do with destruction, and that it MAY have had an “h” in it…but I couldn’t come up with it at all!  Next thing I knew, it was morning.  And I had no idea what that second word was…or what it had to do with my first word…

Macaroons.

MACAROONS and DESTRUCTION!!!  What the hell?!  I’m not even sure what macaroons are!  I mean, I think they’re cookies, but I’m not sure I’ve ever had one.  I do like the name, though.

And destruction?  I’m a middle-aged white woman!  I’m not exactly an anarchist.  (No offense to other middle-aged white women who ARE anarchists, though.  That’s cool.)  I guess, in a pinch, I could come up with a list of things I’d like to destroy.  In case you were wondering, that list would probably start with Sarah Palin, in a photo finish over Justin Bieber.

You’re also probably wondering right about now why, if those two words were SO important, I didn’t just write them down.  I’m a reasonably responsible, once-in-a-while blogger.   I carry a notebook in my purse.  I have them on my desks at work and at home.  See, I’ve been on sleep meds for so long, that I just never needed one by my bed.  There’s nothing to write down when you wake up from an 8-hour blackout!   I could be abducted by aliens after my house was the epicenter of a tornado, an earthquake, and a tsunami … and I wouldn’t be able to write about it.  That night, I wasn’t about to get out of my gigantic, warm, comfy bed to write words down on the other side of the house… When all I had to do was remember them!

Dammit.

January 22, 2011 - Posted by | Sleep

2 Comments »

  1. Hah, I feel your pain with the weird dreams. I wake up some mornings all ‘Ah! I have to tell the world about my awesome life changing dream about pirates, and an island, and I was queen, and there was things!’

    Then I’ll go to the bathroom, have breakfast, and get dressed, then all I can remember is that there might have been pirates?

    It’s disappointing.

    Comment by leafprobably | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Well, the pirates are the important part. Pirates are like bacon & gay men…they make everything better!

      Comment by bonesysblahg | January 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

